word. song. music.

About us

and our history

The Choir of Medical University of Białystok is one of the oldest academic choirs in Poland. It was founded in 1951 at the initiative of students, enthusiasts of singing. From the very beginning, the headquarters of the group were located in Branicki Palace, often called the Versailles of the North. Traditionally, rehearsals and meetings take place in the Aula Magna, an exceptional lecture hall of remarkable acoustic qualities.


he group is a mixed choir. Its repertoire consists of sacral and secular pieces ranging from the early Renaissance period to premieres of contemporary artists’ works. The choir also performs oratorios and operas, singing with symphonic and chamber groups both from Poland and from abroad. Since 1970s, it has regularly collaborated with the orchestra of Podlasie Opera and Philharmonic. It also performed with Philharmonic Orchestras of Szczecin, Kielce, Lublin, Fryderyk Chopin University of Music, University of Louvain, as well as with Orchestre de Chambre de Geneve, Vita et Musica Philharmonic Orchestra and Aarhus Symphony Orchestra. In their long history, medical students from Białystok have participated in numerous prestigious competitions and festivals, winning many prizes and awards. They performed concerts in multiple European countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Spain, the Netherlands, Ireland, Lithuania, Germany, Portugal, Switzerland, Hungary, Great Britain and Vatican City where they had the honour to perform during a holy mass in St. Peter’s Basilica. They were also the only choir from Poland who participated in the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the State of Israel.

The group made archival recordings for Program 2 of the Polish Radio, for radiostations in Belgium, Denmark, France and Ireland, as well as Polish and Belgian television. In 1990, an album with F. Schubert’s Mass No. 6 in E-flat major (missa solemnis) was recorded as a result of a collaboration with Ars Medica pro Humanitate Foundation and the Belgian Medical Orchestra. In 2006, the choir participated in a cross-border project called We are connected by the Forest and the Song in Bialowieża, Poland and Kamieniec, Belarus. During the project, the group recorded an album with songs inspired by the Bialowieża Forest, composed by Felix Nowowiejski and Romuald Twardowski. In 2011, during the 60th anniversary of the Medical University of Białystok, the choir and an early music instrumental ensemble recorded an album entitled Musica pro anima containing A. Vivaldi’s Magnificat.

Many recognized Polish soloists such as Agniesza Zwierko, Małgorzata Walewska, Adam Zdunikowski and Robert Gierlach began their muscial careers by collaborating with the Choir of Medical Univerity of Białystok. The choir has been an integral part of the univeristy almost since its foundation. We believe that what has been built through many years of successive work and love for music will continue to develop and bring pride to our Alma Mater, our city and most importantly to everyone who ventured to come to a rehearsal for the first time… and stayed. For one remains a chorister for their whole life.


Conductors of the choir:

1. Janusz Barburski (od 1951)

2. Witold Koczyński

3. Stefan Sobierajski

4. Wacław Geiger (1960-1963)

6. Mieczysław Szymański (1964-1965)

7. Józef Siebert (1965-1968)

8. Zofia Hamerlak-Gładyszewska (1968-1974)

9. Roman Zieliński (1974-1979)

10. Zbigniew Szablewski (1979-1981)

11. Maciej Jaśkiewicz (1981)

12. Roman Zieliński (1981-1985)

13. Andrzej Banasiewicz (1985-1991)

14. Bożenna Sawicka (od 1991-2017)

15. Anna Moniuszko (2003 – VI 2017 II Director, VI 2017 – I Director)

Presidents of the choir:

1. Jerzy Żabiński

2. Damian Odya

3. Antoni Sydor

4. Jerzy Januszko

5. Bohdan Kapler

6. Róża Prończuk

7. Maciej Manterys

8. Janusz Sobolewski

9. Stanisław Śliwowski

10. Michał Sigurski

11. Rafał Pędich

12. Wiesław Kurzątkowski

13. Brygida Piotrowska-Wróbel

14. Grzegorz Mrugacz

15. Grzegorz Komorowski

Presidents of the choir

16. Krzysztof Furman

17. Mariusz Czarnecki

18. Jerzy Konstantynowicz

19. Agnieszka Żebrowska (Wojnicz)

20. Grzegorz Łapuć

21. Grzegorz Mężyński

22. Paweł Abramowicz

23. Hanna Zajączkiewicz

24. Ewa Sawicka (Piwowarczyk)

25. Grzegorz Mucha

26. Katarzyna Guziejko

27. Paulina Błażejewska

28. Adam Jerzy Ostasiewicz

29. Konrad Zuzda

30. Mateusz Biedrycki



Of the Medical University of Białystok